Peanut Butter Chicken

15 Sep

Please skip over the next paragraph if you wish to, It’s only a prissy rant about how I feel like a big failure today and such.

Today I was informed (very kindly at least) that I didn’t get the tour-guide gig at Kingston Tour. Later in the afternoon, I hauled ass over to campus for one of the most ridiculous interviews of my life thus far. I was asked to transcribe a conversation between my two interviewers as they gabbed lustily away about Reagan Economics, of all things. It inevitably took me on a unwelcome trip down memory lane to this previous summer’s Economics course which I took and soon admitted defeat to. And, and I had to use a dang PC keyboard. So I probably fucked that up. What else? Oh yes, my immune system has also decided it will follow in my footsteps in being a failure. I think I’m only ever this melodramatic in writing, thank heavens.


The healthy way to deal with rejection is to access your situation, pick out a lesson to be learned from all of it and carry on. But really guys, I much prefer to throw myself into the arms of delicious food…so do as I say, not as I do!


So when I got home I immediately retreated to my kitchen and sought to make myself the most carbohydrate laden, satisfying thing I could muster. But by then, I was already feeling a bit less pouty and determined to fill out more job applications later tonight. So I needed something equally gluttonous but won’t knock me into a food induced comma, eventually coming up with this awesome vietnamese inspired peanut butter chicken. Enjoy the recipe šŸ™‚





Hoisin Peanut Butter Sauce Chicken


Ingredients
  • 1/2 lb skinless, boneless chicken thigh, cubedĀ 
  • 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter (regular is a-ok, don’t bother with hard to find unsweetened stuff)Ā 
  • 1 tbsp hoisin sauceĀ 
  • 1/2 cup chicken or vegetable brothĀ 
  • 1/2 tsp saltĀ 
  • 1 cup steamed riceĀ 
  • 1/2 cup minced red onionĀ 
  • 2 tbsp tomato pasteĀ 
  • vegetable oil


Begin by softening the onions in vegetable oil over medium high heat. Add the chicken and saute until throughly cooked judging by a golden exterior. Turn heat down to medium and mix in your hoisin sauce and peanut butter. Be sure to stir constantly during this step as the sugar in the peanut butter will caramelize but will sometimes burn easily if unattended. Once the sauces have thickened to a glaze-like consistency, stir in vegetable broth and tomato paste and turn heat up to medium high. Season with salt to taste. Allow to simmer for approximately 5-8 minutes before plating on a bed of hot steamy rice.

 

Leave a Reply

